Unconventional studies and programs

ImageAfter the internships I attended (please see previous post) I figured I’d do a masters program or diploma or certificate or something to show that I have credentials in my field, because often this helps make you more believable. My wish is to do eco-village planning or sustainable ecological design or something like that, I also want to learn more about sustainable building, how to live with few resources, I want to know more about herbalism, wild plant foods, gardening, community building… ImageI don’t actually know what I want to specialize in in the future, but this is a start (right?). I wanted a program that was different (obv) that required less sitting than a standard course, possibly more outdoor work and hopefully really interesting coursework. To date I’ve found several excellent looking programs.

  1. http://www.postgraduate.hw.ac.uk/prog/msc-sustainable-community-design/ This one has a mandatory three week field trip to Findhorn eco-village, tuition is quite average (I think) and it is only 12 months long.
  2.  http://www.ntnu.edu/studies/msa1 This one has a two months placement in Africa, takes two years to complete but has no tuition! beware though, living costs in Norway are quite high.
  3. http://acs.aalto.fi/masters-programme/ this one is really intriguing, no tuition cost, two years, and the content is ultra cool! interdisciplinary which is important and focus on creativity!
  4. http://www.chalmers.se/en/education/programmes/masters-info/Pages/Design-for-Sustainable-Development.aspx no tuition for EU citizens, two years, very very cool.
  5. http://www.gaiaeducation.net/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=71&Itemid=75 This, from what I understand, can be taken either online or at various locations- Brazil, Spain.. there a few options. It is a year long and you do receive a certificate. Really nifty, a potential possibility in my books.

Also, don’t be afraid to teach yourself! You may learn a lot more that way. Educating yourself for your own benefit and love of a topic can only really lead to something beautiful.

One thought on “Unconventional studies and programs

Leave a Reply

